Friday, September 3, 2010

The Herford Aesop

You can find some lovely little poms in The Herford Aesop: Fifty Fables in Verse, published around 1921 and available online at the Internet Archive. The author is Oliver Herford (1863-1935).

Here is a list of the titles it includes:

1. The Dog and the Wolf
2. The Farmer and the Snake
3. The Ant and the Grasshopper
4. The Deer and the Vine
5. The Old Lion
6. The Fox and the Lion
7. The Fisherman and the Little Fish
8. The Gnat and the Bullock
9. The Bear and the Two Travelers
10. The Dog and his Shadow
11. The Ox and the Frog
12. The Man and the Lion
13. The Lion and the Fox
14. The Eagle and the Arrow
16. The Wind and the Sun
17. The Miller and his Son and their Ass
18. The Fox and the Grapes
19. The Ass and the Image
20. The Kid and the Wolf
21. The Stag and the Lion
22. The Crow and the Water Jar
23. The Crab and his Mother
24. The Hare and the Tortoise
25. The Milkmaid
26. The Hare and the Frogs
27. The Dog in the Manger
28. A Fox and a Crab
29. The Nurse and the Wolf
30. The Mice in Council
31. The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing
32. The Cat, the Monkey and the Chestnuts
33. The Wolf and the Watch-Dog
34. The Fox and the Crow
35. The Star Gazer
36. The Fox that Lost his Tail
37. The Quack Frog
38. The Four Bulls and the Lion
39. The Lioness
40. The Shepherd Boy and the Wolf
41. The Fox, the Lion, and the Ass
42. The Lion and the Mouse
43. The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse
44. The Donkey in the Lion's Skin
45. The Wolf and the Crane
46. The Goose that Laid the Golden Egg
47. The Wolf and the Lamb
48. The Farmer and his Sons
49. The Arab and his Camel
50. The Miser

No comments:

Post a Comment